Sock Innovation Revelation

Last week I visited my local library to pick up some books on teaching (I’m looking into teacher training) but of course I couldn’t resist looking in the knitting section as well. To my surprise, I found Cookie A’s Sock Innovation, which I quickly grabbed off the shelf.

I was expecting it to be good.

However, after reading just a couple of sections I’ve realised it’s not good at all, nope, it’s really, really good. The first section on sock construction and designing is fantastic. There is so much information and inspiration here. Right at the start Cookie A writes “I hope this book will enable knitters to take more control of their knitting.” and I think the first part of the book achieves exactly that.

Two patterns have jumped out at me as MUST KNIT. Firstly, Kai-Mei. I love how the pretty stitch pattern loops around from the side of the heel and when I read that the pattern’s namesake was also a physicist like me, well how could I resist? I haven’t got a suitable yarn at the moment though, so this one is going to have to wait in my queue.

The second pattern I really want to knit is Rick. A very neat and bold pattern which I think calls for a bright and bold yarn. Happily, I already have a yarn that fits that description and I’m sure it will be perfect for this:

4ply, BFL, semi solid orange

I also got this yarn last week:

4ply, BFL, Semi solid blue

It’s such a gorgeous colour and will also solve the problem of no blue socks in my drawer. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it yet (other than make socks!) but I’m thinking after reading through Cookie A’s section on sock designing I’ll be more than inspired to find something to do with the yarn. :)

One thought on “Sock Innovation Revelation

Leave a Reply

